Tag Archives: plays by author playwright Matthew Konkel

Jake Revolver, Freelance Secret Agent – Radio Noir play

radio noir play

radio noir play

JAKE REVOLVER, FREELANCE SECRET AGENT- RADIO NOIR PLAY

In this radio noir play, private detective Jake Revolver fights against conspiracy, double cross and self-reference to uncover the killer of his own narrator. Meant to be performed as the premiere episode of a nineteen-forties live radio broadcast, complete with foley artistry and on-stage stand-up microphones, Jake Revolver, Freelance Secret Agent is a parody packed with puns, play on words, oodles of self-referential absurdity (and Beatles references?) In the tradition of Firesign Theater, Jake Revolver, Freelance Secret Agent combines slapstick, screwball humor, commercial spoofs and a murder mystery for a stylish and ridiculous tour de force comedy.

PRODUCTION HISTORY

Milwaukee Entertainment Group, Milwaukee, WI – June, 2015
Wolf Pack Theatre Company, DC Metro – July, 2015
The Village Playhouse, West Allis, WI – August, 2016
Upstart Crows, Madison, WI – July/August, 2016
Artesia Community Theatre, Artesia, NM – August, 2016
Lancaster Community Players, Lancaster, WI – October, 2016

Jake Revolver, Freelance Secret Agent was a finalist in the Rover Dramawerks Comedy Play Contest and received its world premiere production in Milwaukee, WI produced by Milwaukee Entertainment Group, June, 2015. This hilarious noir parody has delighted audiences in Wisconsin, Massachusetts, New Mexico and Washington, D.C.  

“Beyond the superficial silliness there’s a deeply playful exploration of dichotomy and duality. The show tumbles through a narrative that plays with the fourth wall in a weird existential funhouse, dizzyingly drenched in a semi-automatic barrage of humor.”     -Russ Bickerstaff, Shepherd Express Shepherd Express Review of Jake Revolver, Freelance Secret Agent

Author: Matthew Konkel

Type: Full length one act play

Genre: Radio noir play

Length: 90 minutes

Cast: 5M, 3F. There are actually 12 characters, but some should/could be played by the same actors.

Ages of the actors: Teens up

Suitable for: All ages

Set: Radio play with cast on stage with microphones and people doing sound effects

Level of difficulty: 7/10 – radio plays are an interesting and fun genre for the cast and audience. The whole thing could be done without seeing it, or the cast could perform the play in front of the audience with the people making the sound effects visible which is also very enjoyable.

Read a Sample of the Script




Cost is $8 for this finalist digital play script

Contact Off the Wall Plays with any queries about Jake Revolver

Copyright © February 2019 Matthew Konkel and Off The Wall Play Publishers

Like this play? other radio plays and film noir plays for you to enjoy:

Honesty – British drama – a radio play
Cancelled – a 1940’s farce set in a radio station whilst the cast are broadcasting
Crooked hand – funny film noir script

To be a Tree – play for children about the environment

play for children about the environment

TO BE A TREE – PLAY FOR CHILDREN ABOUT THE ENVIRONMENT

In this one act play for children about the environment, author Matthew Konkel explores the fascinating realm that is a kid’s imagination. You see, Abby Greene is quite sure of herself. It is something common in fifth graders – and all children under twelve years of age: that unfailing confidence in themselves.

It’s easy to think others will think the same way you do. Abby learns that this isn’t always the case when she not only decides to be a tree when she grows up but also informs the world around her of this decision. She is of course mocked by her peers.  Through her adversity and resolve, Abby and her peers come to acknowledge the importance of both technology and the natural environment.

Abby knows why she wants to be a tree and when you learn her reasons you may just want to join her too. To Be a Tree is a one-act play meant to be performed by children, for children.

At what point did you put the childish things away for good? But more importantly, why?

PRODUCTION HISTORY

Summit View Elementary – Waukesha, WI February, 2014

Author: Matthew Konkel

Type: One act children’s play

Genre: Play for children about the environment

Length: 55 minutes

Cast: 4F, 5M and 20 other kids in smaller roles

Ages of the actors: Primary school age

Suitable for: Children to act in and to watch

Set: Various locations in a school – gym class, outside, under a tree. All can be fairly easily accomplished with minimal scenery changes.

Level of difficulty: 7/10 – words in script aimed at slightly older children say 9-12 years old.

Read a Sample of the Script




Cost is $6.50 for this previously produced play

Contact Off The Wall Plays with any queries about To be a Tree

Copyright © April 2018 Matthew Konkel and Off the Wall Play Publishers

Like this play? Other plays for kids in primary school:

Molly and the Magic Phone – musical for kids
The adventures of Mojoe and Snow in Lochloosa
Hot Fudge Pickles – the musical for kids